h1

For a friend

November 2, 2007

 

At the end of September I attended the funeral of a friend and mentor whom I worked with for a number of years pretty much after I was educated. This person was not only a mentor but was somebody who helped to shape and make me who I am today. She was a person that even if you have not spoken to her for three or four weeks on the phone she would send you an email and you would carry on from pretty much were you left off. She was a person who was a great deal of fun but at the same time she was always there for you as a friend and at the same time I respected her very much. She always said to me, and I believe that this statement is something that I follow, “you only get one life, it’s not a rehearsal this is the real thing, so live it and don’t waste it, have few regrets and do what you have always wanted to do because you never know may never get the opportunity again and anyway life is too short.” She wrote that down for me on a card and I still have it to this day I think it’s a very meaningful to many people. She is and will always be truely missed.

Leave a comment